Skip navigation

Federal government declares Hunter a national hydrogen hub

The federal government has declared the Hunter as one of seven national hydrogen hubs that will supercharge the development of a multi-billion dollar export industry.

The government said the Hunter was chosen due to the high level of existing interest from industry stakeholders, the region's skills and research capabilities, infrastructure and resources.

The other hubs will be located at Bell Bay (Tasmania), Darwin (Northern Territory), Eyre Peninsula (South Australia), Gladstone (Queensland), La Trobe Valley (Victoria), and Pilbara (Western Australia).

"The development of clean hydrogen industrial hubs will help the emerging industry work towards achieving the stretch goal of hydrogen production at under $2 a kilogram under the government's Technology Investment Roadmap," Minister for Energy and Emissions Reduction Angus Taylor said.

Read the full article published in the Newcastle Herald 20th September 2021

Continue Reading

Read More